7 Comments

I have given my presence to plants today — giving itty bitty starts bigger pots, preparing soil for the next batch of seeds, offering a close eye to the food in the beginning stages of growth and listening with what they need. I've shaken steeping tinctures and steeping oils, made nourishing tea, and admired the fresh growth on all the trees that are just now emerging from our long winter. All of this feeds my heart in a deeply WHOLE way. Mothering Earth Beings as they infinitely Mother me.

Expand full comment
author

For me, in the past, this kind of Q could easily become fraught with resentment. Why should I have to tend to myself. Today, it's easier. There were things that I wanted ‘right now’ - a bit of last night’s beef stew for lunch, a taste of sweet. (I whipped 1 T of raw coconut oil with a wee bit of honey and yum!) I walked outside and listened to the world come to life. I read and ranged around the house and garden. And doing these little things, I was able to hear the echo of some bigger things I wanted. A daily practice that supports my vision of a ‘good life, well lived’, more engagement with friends and family and travel - always travel. In all of these ways, I tended my heart today. Eager to hear about you.

Expand full comment
May 14, 2023Liked by Amy Oscar

I sent all of my 6 children a picture of myself and them with this saying, "If I know what love is, it's because of you.~~Hermann Hesse. I made some flower arrangements from the Roses in the yard and took them to the neighbors. It another wonderful day!!

Expand full comment